School News

John and Abigail Adams Scholars from the Class of 2019 are honored

Norwood Adams Scholars
Norwood Adams Scholars

Fifty-eight recipients of the John and Abigail Adams Scholarship in the Class of 2019 at Blue Hills Regional Technical School in Canton were honored recently at a ceremony at the school attended by staff, family members, District School Committee members and legislators from Blue Hills’ nine-town district comprised of Avon, Braintree, Canton, Dedham, Holbrook, Milton, Norwood, Randolph and Westwood.

The distinguished guests included Senator Walter F. Timilty, who delivered the keynote address, Rep. William C. Galvin and Rep. William Driscoll.  Mr. William Buckley, Jr., senior legislative aide to State Rep. John H. Rogers, attended on Rep. Rogers’ behalf. District School Committee member Aidan G. Maguire, Jr. of Canton, who welcomed…

Athletic Director Ed Catabia receives President's Award of Merit from MSSADA

Athletic Director Ed Catabia and Principal Jill Rossetti
Athletic Director Ed Catabia and Principal Jill Rossetti

Athletic Director Ed Catabia of Blue Hills Regional Technical School in Canton is the recipient of the President’s Award of Merit from the Massachusetts Secondary Schools Athletic Directors Association (MSSADA).

The award is scheduled to be presented to Mr. Catabia in March 2019.

This honor is given for “length of service, special accomplishments and contributions to high school athletics at the local and state levels,” according to the Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Association (MIAA)’s web site.

Blue Hills Principal Jill Rossetti lauded Mr. Catabia enthusiastically. “We are so proud of Mr. Catabia for earning this MSSADA President’s Award of Merit. Ed models leadership skills, flexibility, project management…

BHR Students Participate in first Massachusetts STEM Week

Left to right: Electrical students Aidan McFadden, Matthew Bonner and Tim Walsh, put some final touches on their projects during STEM Week. (Photo by Judy Bass)

There was something exciting going on in the cafeteria at Blue Hills Regional Technical School in Canton during the week of October 22-26.

Interactive student projects were displayed on the stage for Lunch & Learn, including a programmable robot named Oggy (Engineering); a tabletop electric roller coaster and maze (Electrical); a tabletop home model from Computer-Aided Design / Drafting in collaboration with Construction Technology for which students could try to calculate various components like its first-floor square footage; and races featuring gutter boats (Early Education and Care), which are miniature handmade vessels that can bob and float down a long, narrow, gutter-like container filled with water propelled by the force of…

Groundbreaking Ceremony marks start of major renovation project at Blue Hills

PHOTO CAPTION: Left to right - Blue Hills Superintendent-Director James P. Quaglia, Chair of the School Building Committee; Blue Hills Regional District School Committee Chair Marybeth Nearen of Randolph; Massachusetts School Building Authority (MSBA) Executive Director Jack McCarthy; State Treasurer and MSBA Chair Deborah B. Goldberg; Rep. William C. Galvin; Rep. Mark J. Cusack; and Senator Walter F. Timilty. Photo by Judy Bass.

 By Judy Bass 

A momentous event featuring remarks from school administrators and state officials as well as a groundbreaking ceremony marked the start of a major $84.8 million renovation project at Blue Hills Regional Technical School in Canton on June…

Blue Hills National Honor Society Chapter Inducts New Members

On Wednesday, May 30, 2018, twenty-one new members of the William A. Dwyer Chapter of the National Honor Society at Blue Hills Regional were inducted in a ceremony attended by family members, Blue Hills staff and administrators, and District School Committee member from Dedham and Vice Chair Mr. Thomas Polito.

The evening featured opening remarks from Supt. James P. Quaglia, a welcome from Dean of Students Thomas Cavanaugh, and the introduction of NHS members by NHS Advisor Ms. Michelle Barley.

Four NHS members each spoke about one of the traits of all those who belong to NHS: Alexisia Stewart (Scholarship), Karimah Land (Service), Kasey Zaleski (Leadership), and Sarcenas Jean-Philippe (Character).

The faculty guest…